Nominations open for the Edinburgh Award

Posted on 29/10/2014 by


The Edinburgh Award is seeking its eighth recipient as nominations open to find the successor to art entrepreneur Richard Demarco:


First launched in 2007, the Edinburgh Award is a way for Edinburgh citizens to pay a lasting tribute to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the city through their achievements.

Past recipients include authors JK Rowling and Ian Rankin, sports stars Sir Chris Hoy and George Kerr, scientist Professor Peter Higgs and artist Elizabeth Blackadder – each of whom has a cast of their handprints imprinted in flagstones in front of the Capital’s City Chambers.

Nominations are sought annually from communities, businesses and individuals across Edinburgh and the winner is selected by a panel chaired by the Lord Provost.

The Rt Hon Donald Wilson, Lord Provost, said: “The Edinburgh Award is a coveted accolade and celebrates those people who have been outstanding ambassadors for the city at home and throughout the world.

“If you know somebody who should have this award get involved and nominate them now.  In addition to the award itself the recipients have their handprints embedded into the stones in the City Chambers Quadrangle, providing a visual and lasting tribute to their contribution to this great city.  We all have people in mind that we think are deserving so make sure you get online and make your views known.”

Nominations are now open and can be made online at 

and must be received no later than Thursday 27 November.

Postal nominations are also available.

The recipient will be presented with an engraved Loving Cup by the Lord Provost at a ceremony early next year.

Edinburgh Award criteria state that the individual being nominated:

– was born in Edinburgh or resided in the City for the past 12 months
– has not previously been awarded The Freedom of the City of Edinburgh
– is not a previous winner of The Edinburgh Award
– is not a serving politician.

Once all the nominations have been received, the recipient will be selected by a judging panel chaired by the Lord Provost, with representatives from all political groups on the City of Edinburgh Council, Edinburgh Voluntary Organisations Council and Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce.


Posted in: Uncategorized